Like a Dream

it’s real ::.

Image

This is one of my favorite pictures from all of my travels.  It was taken in the Grote Markt in Brussels, Belgium, right after the rain had stopped.  “Like a Dream” is a phrase that speaks to me in various ways, and this is one picture that symbolizes it for me.

However, I recently read this quote from Dr. Seuss:

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep
because reality is finally better than your dreams.”

I used to love sleeping, in part because I would have these magnificent, fantastical dreams which really were more fun than real life in ways.  Sometimes I felt less alien in my dreams than my reality.  I’m not sure why, since I have led a reasonably happy life.  But this quote really struck me because for once, I can’t fall asleep.  For someone like me, it is an amazing feeling.

[grote markt, brussels, belgium (november 2008)]

leave a comment ::.

