Retailmoss .01 [Fall 2012]

20121019-002033.jpg

Experimenting with a new line of posts covering items I’ve recently purchased. Figured I spend so much time researching and reading reviews for each of these purchases that I might as well share them and hopefully save even one person out there some time or introduce one new favorite thing to someone :)

I consider myself a careful shopper and OCD budgeter. Everyone has different priorities but I think it’s important to balance fiscal responsibility (I think my savings rate is near 50%) with occasional indulgences to live a happy life. “Indulgence” is relative too. It’s within your means, but on the outskirts :) And everyone’s indulgences are different.  For me, it basically comes down to travel and well-designed things.  And since my job is so time-consuming I’m pretty much down to the latter these days. That also means I don’t usually have time to go browsing at the mall, so I do most of my shopping online. Customer reviews are the best!

So here’s my inaugural compilation for Fall 2012 :)

(1) Marc by Marc Jacobs Spot Colorblock Crossbody Satchel $348: I really like this year’s colorblock trend, once I’ve gone cross body I can’t seem to go back, and MBMJ is my favorite brand for bags.  So this was an obvious choice for me.  It just took a 20% off code to convince myself to get this while it’s still available on Saks (seems to be sold out everywhere else).

(2) TOMS Desert Wedge Bootie $89: My first pair of TOMS and my first pair of bootie wedges, two things I thought I’d never buy.  But the hundreds of reviews with a 5-star average don’t lie: these really are very comfortable and are perfect for this season’s bootie trend.  I got the taupe color and it goes well with my favorite neutral colors.  Everyone seems to be sold out other than Nordstrom.

(3) CB2 Dahlia Two-Piece Candle Holder $20: I love greys, taupes, beiges, whites, and other neutral colors, and sometimes I acknowledge I need to add something to make it pop.  This candle holder is a great gold, and for $20 you basically get two holders :) Whoohoo, right?  It’s pretty but still modern, and not too feminine.  Looks great on an assortment of tables, fits a lot of types of decor.

(4) Wacom Bamboo Splash Tablet $80 ($66 on Amazon): I have been wanting to buy a tablet for myself for a long time, but it was one of those things that was easy to keep pushing off for other things.  I’m proud of myself (haha) for finally putting this as a priority and getting this beginner’s tablet on Amazon last week.  I’m still getting used to working on a tablet, but love the potential. It also looks great– good job on the design, Wacom.  If you’re looking for a quality entry-level tablet that won’t break the bank, this one is it.  Hope to have many more posts involving this tablet :)

-MC

leave a comment ::.